A Christmas song I wrote and had copywrited in 2005.

“Christmastime”

 © By Kathy Cooper

12/6/2005

Dear Daddy its Christmastime

And I wanted you to know

How proud I am that you are there

But-oh I miss you so

I remember what you said to me

On the night that you left

You said, “Be strong and understand

That this is for the best

I’ll be helping them to see the way

Life is suppose to be

And understand today, my son

That freedom isn’t free.

Take care of mom and Katie please

They’ll look to you for strength

I’ll be home when the job is done

No matter what the length.”

REFRAIN:

Spending Christmas apart

From mom or dad

Is hard to see through

But we are free today because

Someone fought for our dreams too

Share the love and memories

You’ll never be alone

I am in your heart always

And I’ll see you when I get home.

Dear Mommy it’s Christmastime

And I wanted you to know

How proud I am that you are there

But-oh I miss you so

I remember what you said to me

On the night that you left

You said, “Stay safe and understand

That this is for the best.”

Daddy tries to decorate the house

Like you would do

But he dropped the star, the tree fell down

And he burned the cookies too.

He tries to be strong for me

But I know he wants you here

We talk about the job you do

And its importance is very clear

You are helping them to see the way

Life is suppose to be

I understand today, mom

That freedom isn’t free.

REFRAIN:

Spending Christmas apart

From mom or dad

Is hard to see through

But we are free today because

Someone fought for our dreams too

Share the love and memories

You’ll never be alone

I am in your heart always

And I’ll see you when I get home.

Dear kids, it’s Christmastime

And I’m sending wishes for the best

Remember what I talked about

On the night that I left

Stay strong and keep your head held high

No matter what the call

Memories of Christmas then and now

Are set within us all

Take care of yourself because they all

Will look to you for strength

I’ll be home when the job is done

No matter what the length.

REFRAIN:

Spending Christmas apart

From mom or dad

Is hard to see through

But we are free today because

Someone fought for our dreams too

Share the love and memories

You’ll never be alone

I am in your heart always

And I’ll see you when I get home…

~when I get home.

About kcwriter2000

Love to learn, Love to write, Love life! Check out my Homeschool Journey at http://howshelearnshomeschool.wordpress.com/ Thank you for reading!! ~K.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

